PDA

View Full Version : Hello All

Pip
8-17-14, 3:23pm
I've been browsing this forum on and off for half a year now and just decided to post.

Here's a short version of my story:

I grew up in rural western New York. When I graduated high school I tried to get a typical minimum wage job, but could not get an interview anywhere. So I went to the local public college. I spent four years getting a degree in computer science, and on graduating last spring I moved to Silicon Valley for a job as a software engineer. Now I'm 23.

I like to live simply, although this sort of happened naturally -- I never suddenly decided to change my lifestyle. I go with no car and no smartphone. Living here it's quite possible to just bike, although I don't go many places. I'll rent a car for road trips sometimes. I could name all of my possessions. Perhaps I'll write up an inventory on here sometime and see if there's anything I can get rid of.

The cost of housing is extremely high where I live. I rent a bedroom in a house and save almost all the rest of my income. There's nothing that I would buy for myself if I had more money, so I am content in that way.

What I love most is going home to visit my family and friends that I spent the first 22 years of my life with, and being out in nature which I find incredibly beautiful. We live in such a beautiful world! Unfortunately while in college I was too busy working on my academic/career success that I pretty much ignored nature -- but once college was over I really fell in love with it. Going home and visiting nature are difficult things to do given where I live now. I have to fly across the country to go home, and I have to drive through bad traffic to get out to nature. I have been taking advantage of being out west to visit lots of places out here that I'll probably never see again if I move back east.