PDA

View Full Version : Swiss Army Knife vs. Leatherman Multitool

LDAHL
7-8-16, 5:24pm
Which is more useful in the universe of possible situations?

bae
7-8-16, 5:42pm
It's very situationally dependent - you need to look at your lifestyle/environment/circumstances first, as well as consider what other tools you may be carrying.

I carry a Leatherman Raptor all the time these days, it's very specialized to what I do. When I worked in a lab environment, I carried a different multitool to handle wire cutting/stripping/small screws/etc., even though I usually had a real toolbox a few feet away, it was just handy to have on my person. I've never found the blades on the Swiss Army Knife or the Leatherman-type tools of much use, I prefer a more useable/reliable/agile real blade.

Rogar
7-10-16, 7:03pm
Have both and take the Swiss Army knife in my pack for most outdoor recreations and keep it in a little pouch along with a space blanket, waterproof matches, some basic first aid supplies and a few other emergency survival things. The knife blades may not be as good as a regular high quality folding knife, but I use the knife blades more than any other feature and I do consider the Leatherman knife too small and ergonomically clumsy. For general working around the house or car the Leatherman pliers can be a handy time saver, but usually have some regular pliers close by. They both seem to be available with a variety of other accessories that might be similar, but I have used the Swiss Army tweezers, small saw blade, awl, screwdriver heads, little cork screw, and of course the handy toothpick on various occasions. That's a lot of tools in a small package.

edit to add, my Leatherman is actually a mini Leatherman. I would just suspect a full sized leatherman would take up a little more space and maybe a little heavier than a standard Swiss Army.

Tradd
7-10-16, 8:00pm