PDA

View Full Version : Powerhouse Smoothies - How?

fidgiegirl
4-24-11, 8:51pm
I am a tofu newbie but want to try it out in smoothies as my doc recommended I might have an easier time losing weight if I cut some carbs and up the protein and fruits/veggies. So I want to try tofu in smoothies for breakfast instead of my standby bowl of cold cereal that keeps me full for all of an hour.

Any experience or advice with this? Or other smoothie advice for making them really nutritional powerhouses?

bke
4-25-11, 8:40am
I've been thniking about including more breakfast smoothies too and would be interested in some ideas.

Kelli, it seems to me that I tried one with tofu and the taste somehow came through quite stongly-I don't know why. I have made smoothies with strawberries and vanilla soy milk that are good. Add a scoop of nut butter (even cheap peanut butter) and it adds some satisfying protien to the mix.

Are you considering protien powders? Not really my thing but I know others who swear by them.

terrica
4-25-11, 11:36am
I have never added tofu to a smoothie but I love green smoothies. If you add enough fruit, it masks the taste of the greens. If you want to try them, I would start with spinach as it doesn't have such a distinct taste as other greens. Below is my favorite smoothie.:

Couple of handfuls of spinach
1 apple
1 cup blueberries (frozen is better)

Add a bit of water and blend away.

Rosemary
4-25-11, 1:40pm
If you use tofu, I suggest silken tofu. Or you could use unsweetened soymilk for the liquid instead (TJ's has it).
Since we can't have soy on our allergy elim diet, we've switched to almond milk, but that has a lot less protein - so I bought some brown rice protein powder to try in smoothies. I'll probably try it out this afternoon.

General smoothie question: does a regular blender work well enough for spinach? I tried kale in ours once and it was the chewiest smoothie I've ever made.

screamingflea
4-25-11, 2:10pm