PDA

View Full Version : These days I feel like telling everybody off!

kitten
4-28-11, 8:05am
Over the past few years I've become aware of a sudden desire to just let people I can't stand know what I think of them.

Facebook, and the Internet in general, have been aggravating factors - people come out of nowhere and demand my attention.

Backstory: I spent the first 40 years of my life underemployed and friendless. My parents died young, so after age 30 I had no family obligations. I left school without a degree - my jobs were always lower-tier clerical gigs. As an introvert with low social skills and zero status at work, my life was incredibly lonely. For years.

The good thing though, was I always had tons of time. Life was quiet but manageable. I read up a storm. I started drawing a comic strip and logged sixty pages of it. I started a novel. My activities were still pretty inner-oriented, and I was having trouble connecting my life with the outside world. But I was making some slow progress on personal goals.

And then, things changed. I got married, acquired a fun and demanding job, took up art, and am starting to be paid for it. Plus I've got a number of side projects that need attention. For the first time in my life, I'm like everybody else: I have no time!

So, a new kind of problem: random people out of frickin' nowhere are rearing up and demanding my response constantly these days. It's bizarre and I'm having trouble dealing with it.

A big factor is my job. I work in radio as an announcer, so I'm more visible than the actual decision-makers behind the scenes. But there are people who think I'm some sort of kingmaker (not at all the case), and they're constantly hitting me up for stuff. Examples: