PDA

View Full Version : Woohoo!! Last student loan GONE!

TVRodriguez
5-9-11, 10:35am
I am so excited! This week, almost exactly fifteen years after my husband graduated from med school and 12 years after I graduated from law school, we sent in our payoff check for our last student loan.

WOOHOO!! This is a huge milestone for us.

Between the two of us, we borrowed about $315,000. There were some years (his unpaid fellowship) when the payments were deferred and interest built up (and sometimes capitalized), and there were other years (2005 and 2006, when the hot economy yielded high income for both of us) when we sent in $10,000 in a month. Since 2008, it's been more of the slow and steady payment approach. But this month, we decided we had enough in savings to make the final payoff without damaging our emergency fund (thanks to the improving economy, coupled with our tendency to stick to our regular budget and let any excess sit in savings for a bit in case of a drop in income).

So DH wrote the check this weekend, and it's going in today's mail. (This loan company requires payoffs by mail or else we'd have done it online this weekend.) I am so excited, and I can't wait to see the check hit the loan account and for the account to read "$0.00" on the website!!

Anyhow, just wanted to share. This is not the type of thing I want to post on facebook, but I want to shout it out!! So excited!!

Next comes the mortgage!!

San Onofre Guy
5-9-11, 11:45am
That is AWESOME!!!

I hate to quote him as I don't like the religous tone he has, but to quote Dave Ramsey, go outside and yell "FREEDOM"

razz
5-9-11, 11:47am
It is hard to share this kind of info in general company but I am really pleased for you and that you had a place to celebrate where we can also say, "Way to go!!!"

Kat
5-9-11, 12:21pm
YAY!!!!!!!!!!! Congrat! I am so excited for you! :-)

Reyes
5-9-11, 12:24pm
That must feel wonderful!

jennipurrr
5-9-11, 2:19pm