PDA

View Full Version : What's Up in Your Garden?

jania
6-1-11, 9:33am
My Sun Gold tomatoes are in full swing right now. I've been eating them for about 2 weeks now. This year I tried to be consistent with pinching back new growth from any "forking" branches and the fruits seems to be larger. They taste amazing.

My red tomatoes for this year "Red Siberian" are just now showing a hint of color change. I found a few tomato horn worms on them a few days ago and so hunt them each night (but so far haven't found any more).

My eggplants are beginning to bloom. This is my first year trying them and it will be interesting to see how well they do.

Last year I had a volunteer muskmelon which grew so well but wasn't at all tasty. This year I deliberately planted a few and they are starting to flower, with a few fruits already on their way. I hope these will have a better taste.

So what's going on with your garden today?
(I'm in a desert climate)

Float On
6-1-11, 10:11am
We're eatting peas, radish, and lots of lettuce. Everything else seems to be coming along nicely. The tomatoes seem really slow, maybe because we had too much rain?

redfox
6-1-11, 12:24pm
Spinach, mesclun greens mix, icicle radishes, and more greens! We just planted the tomatoes - trench planted them - and they are under a cloche. Peas just starting to bloom. I seeded carrots, beets & planted potatoes over the weekend. I think we'll have tomatoes in September as usual! The Great Northwet... it's still below 50 at night here.

SRP
6-1-11, 2:45pm