PDA

View Full Version : Unexpected benefits of living through the pandemic era?

Ultralight
2-19-22, 9:08am
Hi All, I was thinking this morning as I bake my Irish soda bread that there have been some unexpected benefits to living through the pandemic. So I thought I'd list off a handful of mine, and maybe you'd like to share some of yours too. In no particular order:

- Masking prevented me from catching many colds and flus that I likely otherwise would have gotten.
-I have eaten healthier over all because I am not going to restaurants and eating their enormous portion sizes.
-I have learned to cook a few simple but infinitely useful things from pantry staples (like Irish soda bread)
-I have become a more efficient grocery shopper
-I've been able to spend so much more time with Harlan during his golden years.
-I can work from home almost every day!
-I started playing music again, picked up guitar after 15 years of not playing, then learned the bass guitar, which I really, really like
-I watched all of Star Trek OS and TNG
-I took roadtrips for my vacations instead of going to other countries; this helped me to appreciate the American landscape and experience more!

That is a pretty good list.

Your turn!

catherine
2-19-22, 10:09am
From NASA:

The COVID-19 pandemic and resulting limitations on travel and other economic sectors by countries around the globe drastically decreased air pollution and greenhouse gas emissions within just a few weeks. That sudden change gave scientists an unprecedented view of results that would take regulations years to achieve.

However, the study conclusions state: