PDA

View Full Version : Scale of one to ten.....

gimmethesimplelife
6-24-11, 4:16pm
How much does what you do for a living define who you are as a person? I will go first.....Color me a three (but on a good day more like two). I am very curious to see other's responses on this.....One thing I like about living simpler is indeed breaking personal identity apart from what I do for money, that concept DEFINITELY works for me. Rob

benhyr
6-24-11, 4:48pm
I'd say I'm pretty high.... but then I was a programmer before I started making money programming. And, if I wasn't working for money, I'd still write programs for little hobby things.

The niece and nephew are amazed that I used to write my own video games to play. Of course, that was a much simpler time... I was 11 and dad bought a TI 99/4a

catherine
6-24-11, 5:10pm
OK, the market researcher in me is asking is one low and ten high? I'm assuming 10 is high.

Very interesting question. I backed into this career solely for breadwinning purposes, but because I have an assortment of skills from here and there (that are kind of part of my identity) I have done pretty well with it for the past 14 years.

So, does market research define me as a person? No way! In fact, sometimes I get mad at my clients, and mad at myself for being part of the whole consumer machine.

But, frankly, I love what I do! Does that make sense? I love interviewing people, I love having to figure out strategic solutions, I love writing reports where you have to make all the data fit into a story for the client, I love coming up with creative ways to present the data, I love standing up in front of a bunch of marketing geeks and having the nod their heads as I present the results.

So, my JOB gets a 2, but my skills get an 8.

Nella
6-24-11, 5:20pm