PDA

View Full Version : Greetings

CompulsiveGardener
6-27-24, 7:59pm
Hello,
I have been lurking for a while and finally decided to introduce myself.

I live in the upper Midwest and have been seeking a simple, meaningful life for decades. I think it began about a year after I started my first "real" job out of grad school (I'm an engineer and spent about 12 years working in various ridiculously high-stress jobs that generally left me dissatisfied with selling my time as well as my health to make crap that no one needed on a rushed schedule that really didn't matter).

I read most of the simple living canon in the late 90s. I went back to those books time and again (from the library, of course).

I work in education now and it is more satisfying, less stressful, and poorly compensated, but I have a chunk of time off each summer that will probably keep me there until I can retire. That time, of course, is for gardening and being outside.

I look forward to joining your conversations!

rosarugosa
6-28-24, 5:47am
Welcome CompulsiveGardener! It sounds like you've made some good choices in terms of quality of life. What is the focus of your gardening efforts?

pinkytoe
6-28-24, 9:43am
Nice to have another compulsive gardener stop by. It is definitely an obsession for some of us.

CompulsiveGardener
6-29-24, 11:00pm