PDA

View Full Version : Millinocket and St. Agatha, Maine

kfander
7-2-11, 5:23pm
I guess I just jumped into some sensitive threads without even introducing myself, so I'll do that now.

I grew up in the UP of Michigan, near the Wisconsin border. I lived in Iowa for about a year before moving westward to Southern California, where I remained for twelve years. From there I went to the Rio Grande Valley of Texas, minutes from the Mexican border, where I worked as a paramedic for twenty years. I married for the first and only time at the age of forty-eight, and my wife and I moved to Maine in 2001.

Other than EMT and paramedic school, I have attended various colleges for varying amounts of times, never sticking with any one thing long enough to earn a degree, the longest being a Bible college, which resulted in my working as a youth minister for a couple of years.

Apart from working several odd jobs after high school, mostly while attending college (I was a tow truck driver for a time, and one of those annoying telephone solicitors), I was a paper bag machine operator and adjuster for twelve years, then went back to school to become an EMT and paramedic after the paper bag business went bottom up. I have worked pretty much every position in EMS, including being the program chairman of a state college EMT program, then starting my own ambulance company with a partner. For the past decade or more, my wife and I have done various tasks online, including web design, search engine optimization, affiliate marketing, and web directory editing, earning a sometimes frustratingly sporadic but generally sufficient income.