PDA

View Full Version : Grants for professional development

Zoe Girl
8-27-11, 12:00pm
Hi all, some of you know my background. I have a degreee in education, am working with afterschool care, and am very ambitious but under earning. So one goal of mine is to learn Spanish and maybe polish my French. the issue besides time is that I do not have the funds to do this on top of the time. I am pretty much done with funding anything more by myself since the masters has not paid off with teacher layoffs. I am very capable of doing the work, I got a 3.88 in my masters while working full time and raising my kids through divorce. I just need a way to pay for things. So any ideas on grants for this? I see lots of money going towards teaching our Spanish speakers English. there are free and very low cost classes that we make available for them. I still have to hire a bilingual person for every one of my schools. That is just my frustration though, The end result is that I need to make myself more marketable and earn more as more and more keeps on happening (kids age out of child support but still live with me, ex husband loses job, etc.).

Okay the wandering point is, does anyone have some ideas on grants or other ways to learn Spanish quickly, I want more than just trying to learn from my Spanish speaking staff.

iris lily
8-27-11, 12:13pm
What evidence do you have that learning Spanish, and especially French, makes you more marketable? What jobs are out there in quantity that you believe you'd qualify for that you don't now qualify for?

ApatheticNoMore
8-27-11, 12:34pm