PDA

View Full Version : Ebay strategies and morality

herbgeek
10-22-11, 8:58am
So I'm looking for other people's experience with their Ebay strategies.

Here's my specific situation: there's this purse I've been lusting over for about 6 months, that is available new in a very spendy store. I have an ebay alert set up to notify me if one becomes available. I don't care if its new or used.

One showed up a few days ago, new, at about 25% of the price it sells for new. There is one bid on it. The auction ends tomorrow mid morning.

My plan was to wait until there is less than an hour left to put in my bid. I know that in the past when I've bid for a few items as the sole bidder, I was all excited only to have someone outbid me in the last few minutes, but here I am thinking of doing that to someone else. I'm feeling a bit guilty, should I?

What is your personal morality with regards to Ebay sales? Is any bidding activity ok?

Float On
10-22-11, 9:04am
I think that is the "Way of Ebay" since they first started the 'watch this auction' years ago. Seems every auction is won by a last minute bidder.

Miss Cellane
10-22-11, 9:18am
It's perfectly acceptable at Ebay. It's called "sniping." If you bid early on in the auction, you alert others that someone's interested in the item. So more people will bid, thus driving up the eventual price.

It's not illegal to do this. It's not immoral. It's smart shopping. Heck, there's even software out there that will do your sniping for you, so you can bid at the last second on something at 3 in the morning and still get a full night's sleep.