PDA

View Full Version : retirement home ?

artist
1-15-11, 8:58am
Hi all. I have a question I'm hoping you all wouldn't mind answering for me. One of our personal goals is to eventually not only live a debt free life, but also live well below our means. To that end we are examining housing options for our future when we move closer to retirement. Living with just what we need space wise is important to us, though we do need a home office/ studio space as I am an artist. So I'm looking at the following housing options: Apartment, condo, mobile home, small cabin or small stick built home. City, small town or out in the sticks....

I'm wondering if you all would mind sharing your experiences (pros and cons) with the type of housing you have right now as well as the pros and cons of it's location. It would really helps us consider all the angles as well as financial issues (like association fees, land rental, etc.. as well as maintance issues).

We have a while before we have to consider all this, but I want to gather as much information as possible. Hearing from people actually living in these settings will help us make a more informed choice when the time comes.

This board has been great in getting us to think about a smaller home, living with only what we really need etc.. So for this added in formation I thank you in advance.

Kestra
1-15-11, 9:43am
DH and I rent a 2 bedroom apartment right now - about 900 sq ft as it's decent size for an apartment. It is in a largish 14 story concrete-constructed building with a lot of seniors. There is a no pet policy. For location I'm not sure what you mean - city/state in general, or location within the city. We're in Canada so it is a large city that is smaller than Toronto/Vancouver. We live in a an area far enough from downtown to be pretty quiet, but not so far as to have no amenities.
Pros:
- 0 maintenance - if something is broken they fix it (not common to all apartments, but here they are pretty good)