PDA

View Full Version : Hi from Georgia

lisaknex
12-23-11, 12:10pm
Long time reader of the forums. I decided to register and say Hi.

I am having a really nice, stress free December thanks in part to simple living.

I took up crocheting this past summer and made several gifts for family and coworkers for the holidays, so I have been able to stay out of the stores this month.

I am opting out of several high stress, family type gatherings and this has made my life so much calmer over the season. Thanks in part to this forum, I have learned to say "no thank you" to events that I truly do not enjoy.

Thanks for a wonderful community!

Lisa

Float On
12-23-11, 12:24pm
Hi Lisa - glad you took time to register and post. Welcome!
I'm just learning how to crochet and knit too.

treehugger
12-23-11, 12:40pm
Welcome, Lisa! Happy to hear about your low-stress December. Way to go!

Kara

rosarugosa
12-23-11, 6:55pm
Welcome Lisa! I think many (even here) can benefit from hearing about your low-stress December. Look forward to hearing more from you!

KayLR
12-23-11, 7:19pm
Hi Lisa! I also crocheted caps for all my husband's staff this Christmas--they really went over! I think people really appreciate handcrafted items. Plus, do you, like me, find it kind of therapeutic? In the evenings, when I've finished up all the dishes and just want to relax, I crochet while DH (and I indirectly) watches whatever game is on. It keeps my hands busy and from feeding my face!

I would love to hear how you opted out of stressful family things. I still have a bit of trouble extricating myself from that whole game.

Welcome! Thanks for de-lurking.

fidgiegirl
12-23-11, 8:11pm
Really nice to hear from you, Lisa! :)

What were the gifts you made? How did you learn to crochet?

lisaknex
12-24-11, 6:24am
Thanks for the warm welcome!

My 22 yrs old son dropped out of college this past summer to be a starving artist and I started crocheting like mad. It really has been my therapy.