PDA

View Full Version : Lump Sum or Retirement Roll Over

Cypress
1-19-12, 8:56am
I have been working for a municipality for one year and 3 months. There is a weekly deduction into the state pension fund which has accumulated to $3300. I have accepted an offer on a job that will move me back into a private institution. The move salary wise is horizontal. The pension plan allows me to roll the accumulated dollars into an IRA which I have set up and can do. The other alternative is lump sum less 20% to federal tax.

I have several immediate needs for cash. My bed frame gave a loud large crack last night and part of the bed sagged. As it was the middle of the night, I just slept on the other side and will check this later tonight. From the sound of things, the wood frame cracked vertically. This is a futon frame that can be used as a couch or a full size bed.

I am also due for a major tune up on the car. I assume that will go well as I take good care of the car. It needs new hubcaps as mine were stolen within the last few months. I know it needs brake work, it’s time for the $30K maintenance. I might need new tires all around.

I also need a new shed.

The whole dollar number would be around $2660 with that I could certainly take care of the bed, car and some of the shed. My emergency fund is full at $1K and I have a house fund with a current balance of $600. I will not touch savings for any of this. The alternative is to save up for each situation which will take some time. If the frame is cracked I can put the mattress on the floor and make do.

What would you do?

herbgeek
1-19-12, 9:26am