PDA

View Full Version : What unusual jobs have you done or who was your worst boss or cowrker and why?

BayouGirl
10-3-12, 9:46pm
Forgive me if this is a duplicate topic. I felt this was the most appropriate place to post so feel free to change it, if it is not. Anyways, I was thinking over my lifetime of working, and marveling at the variety of things I have done for a living. I have a college degree but have never been an educational snob who thinks any job is below me. I enjoy doing odd jobs and learning to do new things. There is no shame in doing an honest days work. I don't need a fancy title to make me feel important or validated.

So I am interested in hearing different ways that you have supported yourself through the years and the odd skills that you have acquired along the way. I like having a diverse range of skills and experiencing different ways of working and living.

I also thought of some of the bosses/coworkers that I have had to deal with. There were some real characters, believe me. Some of them just boggled my mind with the way they treated people and their expectation of what their employees duties were. Include experiences with unbelievable customers as well. I bet there are some great stories just waiting to be shared.

Among my odder jobs have been:

* Working as a fairy princess for kids parties and for "teatime" at a fairy castle.
* Dressing as a southern belle in hoop dress for New Orleans conventions
* Working in an Alaskan cannery, packing the fish roe (egg sacks) braided neatly in a small wooden box to be shipped to Japan as a poor man's caviar.
* Hunting alligators during alligator season.
* Harvesting pecans during pecan season.
* Worked as a roofer,( I was all of 5 ft 2 inches and 110 lbs) after Hurricane Gustav, as the only female on the crew and i was well respected for my tenacity and that I had no fear of heights.